Title 24 California Climate Zones

To standardize calculations and to provide a basis for presenting the prescriptive
requirements, the Energy Commission has established a set of standard climate data for
each of the 16 climate zones. The climate zone definitions and data are the same for both the low-riseresidential and the nonresidential standards.
Beginning with the 2013 Energy Standards, ZIP code boundaries have been used to define
climate zone boundaries; under these rules, a given ZIP code is always located entirely
within a single climate zone.

Go to the link below to find out your Climate Zone based on zip code.


 (Excerpted from CEC Title-24 Part 6 Residential Compliance Manual)

You May Also Like

HERS Testing and Inspections

The HERS or Home Energy Rating System was developed by RESNET and is the nationally recognized system for inspecting a home’s energy performance.These inspections are on site verification of the energy efficiency features. – HERS Testing and Inspections

Read More »

Residential HVAC Design

The amount of heating and cooling needed for any given space depends on large number of variables like, Size of space, orientation relative to Sun, climate zone etc. undersized systems simply don’t have enough capacity to provide the thermal comfort. Oversized systems on the other hand would be inefficient and wasteful. For this reason, it is not prudent to follow rules of thumb for sizing HVAC system.

Read More »

CALGreen – Green Building Compliance

CALGreen also called as the Green Building Code is part of the California building code. It is Mandatory for every building in the state to meet this code. CALGreen covers topics like construction waste management, Flow rates of plumbing fixtures and sustainable building practices just to name a few.

Read More »

Title 24 Report

Title 24 is an estimation of how much energy a proposed building will consume. This estimate is then compared with a comparable ‘code minimum’ building to show that the proposed design is more energy efficient. The results are printed out in the form of a report that can be submitted to building department for permit.

Read More »